Raiders Richard Seymour ejected for punching another player, Somewhere Charles Woodson is laughing

Raiders DT Richard Seymour was ejected from the game against the Dolphins on Sunday for punching another player.  Predictably, many in the media are calling for a suspension for his actions as well.  Now I’m not going to defend one player punching another, I believe that punching a player with a closed fist crosses the line from losing your cool in a heated moment, and into cheap shot territory.

What I will question however is why Seymour was ejected from this game, while Packers Cornerback and best defensive player, Charles Woodson WAS NOT ejected for doing the exact same thing in the the Packers season opening game against the New Orleans Saints. Actually after watching both of the plays again, I would say that what Woodson did was much worse than Seymour’s so called”punch.”  For one thing, Woodson hit the player AFTER the play was over, with a closed fist, in the stomach area.  He deliberately made a fist and hit a player in one of the only parts of his body that was not covered with pads.  It was a clear cheap shot done for no other reason than to inflict pain.  Seymour’s “punch” however was actually a shove to the offensive lineman’s face with an OPEN PALM.  Now where I come from you need to have a closed fist for it to be considered a punch.  Furthermore, the dolphins lineman was holding Seymour during the play.  Seymour was trying to disengage the blocker so he pushed back hard with an open palm.  Illegal hands to the face?  Yes.  Punch?  Not a chance.

I also found it amusing that in his explanation of the penalty, referee Mike Carey says “for throwing a punch, number 92 is ejected”  implying that in the case of a player throwing a punch, it is an automatic ejection, regardless of the situation.  So I ask again, why wasn’t Charles Woodson ejected for throwing a punch?

I said at the time that it was very fishy that Woodson was only given a 15 yard penalty on the play, and was allowed to remain in the game.  I made the observation that every other time we have seen a player throw a punch with a closed fist after a play is over, that player gets ejected.  Now here is another perfect example of the double standard on display.  I’m sure Seymour will point this out to the league when he appeals the fine that is surely coming.  He may also like to point out that Woodson was only fined $10,000 (and also did not have to forfeit a game check due to being suspended) for his punch.  Interesting to see how much the NFL will decide to fine Seymour, but you can bet it will be a lot more than $10,000.

Click here for the NFL.com video of Seymour’s Punch

And below is Woodson’s Cheap shot.  Even the announcers at the time said that by rule Woodson should have been ejected.

 

 

Tell us in the comments which one you thought was more of a cheap shot.  Maybe one of you can explain why Woodson wasn’t ejected because I sure can’t, and the NFL can’t either.

 

 

Posted in 2011, Comparisons, Week 13 | Tagged , , , , , , | Comments Off on Raiders Richard Seymour ejected for punching another player, Somewhere Charles Woodson is laughing

Packers – Lions: Bad Pass interference call on Lion’s Mcdonald leads to game’s first TD.

There were several questionable calls that went the Packers way in their Thanksgiving day game against the Lions. This pass interference call on the lions Brandon McDonald was the most blatant bad call of the day, and also arguably the most costly for the Lions. After Matt Stafford’s first interception of the day the Packers had a first and ten from the Lions 13 yard line.  Aaron Rodgers slightly underthrew a pass to Greg Jennings in the back right corner of the endzone. Because the ball was underthrown, Jennings had to come back to get it and initiated contact with cornerback Brandon McDonald. Instead of a no-call or offensive pass interference call, officials flagged McDonald, giving the Packers a first and goal from the two. the Two plays later Aaron Rodgers threw his first touchdown of the day to receiver Greg Jennings. In fact throughout the game (and season) it seemes like officials were making questionable calls in the Packers’ favor.

It is also interesting to note that while Lions DT Ndamukong Suh was immediately ejected (and rightly so) after stepping on Packers’ lineman Evan Dietrich-Smith, Packers cornerback Charles Woodson was NOT ejected in the season opener when he punched a player in clear view of officials. I said in a post at the time that not ejecting Woodson was showing clear favoritism towards the defending Super Bowl champion Packers. The fact that Suh was ejected immediately and will likely be suspended for his actions, further proves the NFL’s double standard when dealing with certain players and teams.

You can see the questionable Pass interference call on the NFL’s site. The play is at the :30 second mark.  Let us know what you think of this and any other bad calls from the Thanksgiving day games in the comments.

Posted in 2011, Week 12 | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on Packers – Lions: Bad Pass interference call on Lion’s Mcdonald leads to game’s first TD.

Danieal Manning penalized for possibly the worst “defenseless receiver” call ever

After all the criticism the NFL has taken the last few years for bad calls and questionable helmet to helmet and defenseless receiver penalties, I thought that the refs would be at the top of their game this year to avoid these kind of bad calls.  Instead, they seem to have somehow gotten worse.

Danieal Manning of the Texans was flagged for hitting a defenseless receiver in the 4th quarter of the Texans game against the Colts.  Usually when there is a bad call like this the defensive back delivers a brutal hit on the receiver, but in this case Manning barely touched Colts receiver Pierre Garcon.  After the game Manning said that he actually saw the ball knocked out of Garcons hands before he got to him, so he started to slow down so as not to draw a penalty.  As he was slowing down and trying to avoid a collision, Garcon’s shoulder hit Manning’s leg… and officials decided to penalize Manning for hitting a defenseless receiver.

Here is a video of the play.

After the game Manning said that he wasn’t so much angry at the call as he was confused, and understandably so.  I’m also confused.  If this is a penalty then I don’t know how every hit on a receiver isn’t a penalty.  Once again NFL officials have proven that they cannot make these judgment calls consistent from team to team and game to game.  We have seen many receivers hit much harder on plays that did not draw a flag.

While this bad call did not have any effect on the outcome of the game it was still a bad call and it is still unacceptable in the NFL.  Its beginning to appear as if the officials don’t really know the rules to the game they are in charge of officiating, and that is a scary thing.  Eventually a ridiculous call like this while change the outcome of a big game and fans will be furious.  Unfortunately the NFL will probably wait until calls like this ruin the integrity of the game before taking action to prevent them.

Let us know what you think of this call or any other questionable calls from this weekend in the comments.

Posted in 2011 | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on Danieal Manning penalized for possibly the worst “defenseless receiver” call ever

Charles Woodson gets away with punching another player

Apparently Roger Goodells crackdown on cheap shots does not apply to star cornerbacks of defending super bowl champions.

Packers cornerback Charles Woodson punched Saints tight end David Thomas after being blocked by Thomas on a play in the third quarter of the NFL’s opening night game between the Saints and the Packers.  Over the years we have seen NFL players get carried away in the moment and throw a punch at another player numerous times, but what makes this incident different from others, is that Woodson was not ejected for intentionally trying to hurt another player with a cheapshot below the pads.  In the past a flagrant offense like this was an automatic ejection, but in this case officials only flagged Woodson for a 15 yard unsportsmanlike conduct penalty and allowed him to remain in the game.  Former NFL head of officiating Mike Pereira said that Woodson should have been ejected for throwing a punch.

Considering the NFL’s recent attempts to make the game safer by cracking down on illegal hits and cheap shots, it is interesting that Woodson was not ejected.  You have to wonder if a player like James Harrison or Albert Hayneseworth, or a lesser known player would be allowed to remain in the game after punching a player in plain view of officials.

Were the refs playing favorites here with the home team?  After all the game was in Green Bay and Charles Woodson is arguably the best player on the Packers defense.  Ejecting him would have had a huge effect on how the rest of the game played out, and could have easily been the difference in a close game like this one.  Sean Payton knew this and was obviously angry with officials for not throwing Woodson out of the game.

This is yet another case of NFL officials not applying the rules consistently and it was only the first game of the season.  The fact that the player involved was the most important player on the home team’s defense sure makes it look suspicious.  Hopefully the league will have an explanation for why Woodson wasn’t ejected, but I can’t imagine what it could be.

Should Woodson have been ejected, and if so, why wasn’t he?  Let us know in the comments.

Posted in 2011 | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on Charles Woodson gets away with punching another player

Refs Miss Defenseless Reciever Call in Superbowl

After a season full of penalties for hits on defenseless receivers, I was pretty surprised that the Packers got away with what looked to me like a textbook penalty.

Late in the third quarter the Steelers fail to convert a 3rd down when Ben Roethlisberger threw high over his receivers head.  As the receiver was stretched out for the ball a Packer defensive back launched into the air and speared the Pittsburgh receiver, while leading with his helmet.

After reviewing the play several times on my DVR, it seemed to me like it should have been a pretty easy penalty call.  I was unable to find any replays of the play this soon after the game, but if you have a DVR the play happened on third down with about 50 seconds left in the third quarter.  I will have video up as soon as possible of the play.  For now let us know what you think in the comments.

Posted in Playoffs, Super Bowl | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on Refs Miss Defenseless Reciever Call in Superbowl

Bad Intentional Grounding Call On Hanie in Bears – Packers NFC Championship Game

There were several questionable calls that went the Packers way in this game, but I thought this one was an obvious bad call, and Fox announcers agreed.  Bears QB Caleb Hanie was under pressure from several Packers as he threw the ball downfield.  There were 2 Bears receivers in the area where the ball was thrown, but a late grounding penalty was thrown after officials huddled to discuss the play.  This was one of several questionable calls that went against the Bears in what turned out to be a pretty close game.  Ill have a video link up soon of this play and some of the other questionable calls in this game.

Posted in Playoffs | Tagged , , | Comments Off on Bad Intentional Grounding Call On Hanie in Bears – Packers NFC Championship Game

Questionable Call on Shields Interception Before Half in NFC Championship game.

Packers defensive back Sam Shields made what at first glance appeared to be an interception late in the first half of the NFC Championship game between the Bears and Packers.  After looking at replays though, you can see that Shields bobbled the ball and it touched the ground and he landed.

Officials reviewed the call and upheld the ruling on the field of interception.  Former VP of Officiating Mike Pereira said that the call should be an incomplete pass right before the officials upheld the challenge.  What do you think was this challenge handled correctly, or should it have been overturned.  The play can be seen here, about 3:00 in to the video.  NFL network analysts also agreed that it was a bad call and should have been ruled an incomplete pass.

Posted in Playoffs | Tagged , | Comments Off on Questionable Call on Shields Interception Before Half in NFC Championship game.

Bears forced to Waste Challenge on Bad Call, Even After Official Signaled Pass Incomplete

Chicago Bears head Coach Lovie Smith was furious after he had to use a challenge flag to correct what should have been an obvious call.  It was so obvious in fact, that one of the officials on the field signaled that the pass was incomplete.  This would imply that the official saw the ball hit the ground.  If he saw the ball hit the ground then why would he let the play be ruled an interception?  If he did not see the ball hit the ground then why did he rule incomplete?  Whatever happened, this crew is going to have a lot of explaining to do after this game.  This play and a few others really made it seem like officials were on the Packers side in this game.

The ruling on the field was eventually corrected and overturned, but Lovie Smith was forced to waste a challenge flag because the officials screwed up an easy call and did not trust one of their own crew members who made the correct call immediately after the play.  These kinds of bad calls need to be addressed.  The head coach of an NFL team has enough to worry about, he shouldn’t need to do the officials job for them as well.  Coach challenges are meant to be used when plays are so close that they cannot be correctly determined on the field at full speed.  In this case one of the officials on the field saw the ball hit the ground and correctly ruled the play an incompletion, but was overruled by the rest of his crew.  I would like to hear an explanation from the league about this call, because unless an official knew that the ball did not hit the ground (impossible because replays clearly show it did hit the ground) then they should have trusted the official that did see the ball hit the ground.

You can see a replay of the play here: around 4:40 in

Posted in Playoffs | Tagged , | Comments Off on Bears forced to Waste Challenge on Bad Call, Even After Official Signaled Pass Incomplete